Maarja Kangro


Maarja Kangro was born in 1973 in Tallinn, where she still lives. To date she has published 15 books, including 6 collections of verses. She received the Prize for Literature of the Estonian Cultural Endowment twice, once in 2011 and once more in 2014, and the Tallinn University Literature Award (2016 and 2020). Her most important publications in recent years include “Ahvid ja solidaarsus” (Apes and Solidarity), stories, 2010; “Must tomat” (The Black Tomato), poems, 2013; “Klaaslaps” (A Child of Glass), novel, 2016, “Minu auhinnad” (My Awards), non-fiction, 2018, “Tuul” (Wind), poems, 2019. Her poems have been translated into 20 languages; she herself is a translator (having translated Leopardi, Zanzotto and Enzensberger) and a librettist.

Tuul (Wind). Nähtamatu Ahv, 2019
Minu auhinnad (“Meine Preise”). Nähtamatu Ahv, 2018
Klaaslaps (A Child of Glass). Nähtamatu Ahv, 2016
Must tomat (The Black Tomato). EKSA, 2013
Ahvid ja solidaarsus (Apes and Solidarity). EKSA, 2010

2016/2020: Tallinn University Literature Award
2011/2014: Friedebert Tuglas Short Story Award
2011: Prize for Literature of the Estonian Cultural Endowment

Festival Content