Sofía Castañón

Juan Tizón

Sofía Castañón was born in Gijón in 1983 and is a producer in the audio-visual sector by profession. Since 2006, she has worked in the press, in radio and in television and has published several collections of poems. In Spanish: “Animales interiors” (Trabe, 2007), “Últimas cartas a Kansas” (La Bella Varsovia, 2008), “La noche así” (Yalodijo Casimiro Parker, 2012), “La otra hija” (Suburbia, 2013) and “Prohibido silbar” (Baile del Sol, 2014); and in Asturian: “Tiempu de render” (Trabe, 2010) and “Destruimientu del xardín” (Hesperya, 2012). Other publications are the notebooks “La sombra de Peter Pan” (2009), “Culpa de Pavlov” (2012) and “Ismos” (2014). She has taken part in various festivals in Spain and the rest of Europe, mainly with her electronic music project Caos Excelencia. In 2014, her documentary film “Se dice poeta” was released, in which she examines the Spanish poetry scene from a gender perspective.

Publications (selection):
Prohibido silbar. Baile del Sol, 2014.
La otra hija. Suburbia, 2013.
Destruimientu del xardín. Hesperya, 2012.
La noche así. Ya lo dijo Casimiro Parker, 2012.
Tiempu de render. Trabe, 2010.
Últimas cartas a Kansas. La Bella Varsovia, 2008.
Animales interiors. Trabe, 2007.

Festival Content