Ben Lerner

(c) Catherine Barnett

Ben Lerner was born in Topeka, Kansas, in 1979 and is one of the world’s best-known and most important poets. He has written three collections of poems, “The Lichtenberg Figures” (2004), “Angle of Yaw” (2006) and “Mean Free Path” (2010). The book “No Art”, published in 2016, collected all three together. Lerner is also the author of three novels, “Leaving the Atocha Station” (Coffee House Press, 2011), “10:04” (Farrar, Strauss and Giroux, 2014), and “The Topeka School” (Farrar, Strauss and Giroux, 2019).

Publications (selection):
No Art. Granta Books, 2016.
Mean Free Path. Copper Canyon Press, 2010.
Angle of Yaw. Copper Canyon Press, 2006.
The Lichtenberg figures. Copper Canyon Press, 2004.
Angle of Yaw. Copper Canyon Press, 2006.

2020: Finalist, The Pulitzer Prize for Fiction
2019: Finalist, National Book Critics Circle Award
2019: Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Fiction
2015–2020: MacArthur Foundation Fellowship
2013: Guggenheim Fellowship
2006: Finalist des National Book Award for Angle of Yaw
2003–2004: Fulbright Fellowship
2003: Hayden Carruth Award

Festival Content